Where the Souls of good men go

Growing up, my worst fear was losing one of my parents. When I was much younger, the fear of losing my dad was an almost crippling one. I would watch and pray and almost keep vigil for his return, any time he embarked on a journey. He was never sick, so I was certain that if he didn’t die in an accident, he would live till a very ripe old age. It wasn’t that I loved my mum any less than my dad, it was just that my dad was the only one that had any real income, so to speak. As the years passed, my mum started doing her thing and my fear for both of them balanced out and became that vague thing at the back of your mind that gets triggered momentarily on occasion. Like when daddy went to Uganda and we couldn’t reach him for a while (You see, Uganda is within spitting distance of Kenya and Al-shabaab. It is also neighbours with the DRC and South Sudan. I heaved a huge sigh of relief when he touched down in Lagos.)

In April, in conversation with my dad, when I was displaying all the wisdom I can lay claim to, I finally admitted my ‘absurd’ fear to him. It was basically a conversation about why he shouldn’t do certain things and how some of his actions over the years have affected certain aspects of our behaviour and I basically said ‘you don’t know how afraid I have been, over the years, of you dying’. Barely three months after this conversation, I would be made to face one of my worst fears.
On the 1st of July 2015, my dad passed away at past 6a.m. it wasn’t in an accident, like I always imagined. It was barely 8 weeks after what started as an innocuous complaint of abdominal pain, not severe enough to disturb sleep or daily activities (at least in the beginning), as we like to say in medical parlance. It was the first time he was ever sick enough to go to the hospital. It would also be the last.

A whirlwind of tests and investigations followed, with nobody quite able to say for sure that this was what he had until about 2weeks before his death. But that ‘irrational’ fear had mushroomed in my mind to epic proportions, from the day of his first complaint and despite the fact that we were waiting on the test results, I wondered ‘what if this is it?’ Then I prayed.
One day, while waiting for test results at UATH Gwagwalada, I broke down in tears and faced him and said ‘Daddy, you can’t die and leave me. You can’t just leave us like this.’ He broke down in tears. We could afford to do this because my mum had gone to check whether the results were ready. He quickly pulled himself together and said ‘We have to be strong for mummy. I’m afraid to die because I’m worried about you people, but I know you will be fine.’ I talked about not going for my masters and he said ‘Ag, your life doesn’t have to stop because I died.’ That was my dad. Always putting his family first, and even when he was really in a lot of pain, his greatest concern was how we felt watching him suffer. One day, he actually said ‘Even if I’m going to die, can you make this pain go away? It’s hard for me to watch you people watch me in so much pain.’

I also learnt a lot about the burden of knowledge. Sometimes, ignorance is bliss. When the symptoms started to roll over themselves, I was so scared. There’s something with doctors and their own health; we either latch on to the very worst possible scenario or we ignore the symptoms till it’s too late. I did the former and turns out I was right. Many times, I wished I didn’t know what I knew, but the worst was when the doctors gave up on him. That moment when the I looked the doctor in the eye and saw the message he was trying to pass without words (another doctor eventually said the words ‘Just let him go’. Like he was just an acquaintance I had picked up on the road).

DSC02704

My dad continues to teach me, even in death. There were some decisions he took some months before he died, things I thought he shouldn’t have done at that point, because I felt he had time… Time, that elusive thing we all think we have control of, until it’s obvious that we don’t. He did those things and at the end, I was glad he took had those opportunities. It would have been hard to live with the knowledge that I robbed him of what became a lifetime opportunity for him.

IMG-20150126-WA001

My people have a saying: ‘A child’s ignorance is comparable to darkness’. After my dad’s passing, it fell to me to take care of certain things. Now, he would just come back for a minute. I would like to say to him ‘You were Superman to be able to juggle things the way you did. You took the cards life dealt you and made a marvellous life for us’.

Every child ‘knows’ that their father is a good man. Every child hopes that their father is a good man. When my dad died, what we knew was confirmed. People travelled from far and wide to my tiny village to honour the man they knew and loved. From Kano and Sokoto, from Lagos and Ibadan, from Owerri and Onitsha, everyone in their buses, until my village was inundated and the villagers started to ask ‘Who was this man really?’ Testimony after testimony about his life was given by people we knew and people we didn’t. One man had travelled from Lagos to be at the burial. He said if he had walked past my dad on the road, he wouldn’t have recognized him. Their only contact had been via telephone, but for 15yrs, he had done business with my dad and never had cause to complain. He had come to honour a man he had never met in life.

Today, Daddy would have been 60yrs. This time last year, he had one-day training in Abuja, where I was then working. I was on call that day and his training finished a few minutes before I rounded up from work. It didn’t take much cajoling to convince him to come to my work-place. Within a few minutes, I was done and we went to my house and he brought the food he brought with him and we celebrated his birthday before he left for Minna that day. I would never have figured by any stretch of imagination, that that would be the last we would celebrate together. Indeed, we were making secret plans to have a surprise bash for him today, being the weekend and all. But, my dad has gone to the place where the souls of good men go. Daddy, have a rocking one on our behalf, down here, we’ll raise a glass in remembrance of the wonderful man, husband and father you were.

We love you always.

Jpeg
Jpeg

PS,
I am deeply deeply grateful to all those who have stood by us through this period. There are people whom you don’t even know how much you mean to them, until they have the opportunity to show it. To all those who have run to my aid even before I called. Words cannot express how I feel.
To those who didn’t quite step up, I don’t know what to say….

16 comments

    • O Agatha!!! If only more men were like your dad, his life might have been short by our standard but he lived life like he ought to have ( impacting lives) God bless and keep you. Mummsy and sibs in Jesus name. BTW popsi looks sooo young didn’t think he was up to 60 oo!!

      • Mokhor, thanks. This is part of the reading that was taken at his funeral:
        The righteous man, though he die early, will be at rest. For old age is not honored for the length of time, nor measured by number of years; but understanding is gray hair for men, and blameless life is ripe old age.
        There was one who pleased God and was loved by him, and while living among sinners he was taken up. He was caught up lest evil change his understanding or guile deceive his soul.
        For the fascination of wickedness obscures what is good and roving desire perverts the innocent mind.
        Being perfected in a short time, he fulfilled long years; for his soul was pleasing to the Lord, therefore he took him quickly from the midst of wickedness. Yet the peoples saw and did not understand, nor take such a thing to heart, that God’s grace and mercy are with his elect and he watches over his holy ones.

        So, I am consoled.

        And yeah, he was a good looking almost-sixty-year old

  1. I am not sure I would be as open as this, on a good day. Truly deep, touching and instructive. Once more, I learn newer things while reinforcing others. May popsy’s soul find peace; may all his loved ones find strength to celebrate a worthy man who will never be forgotten.

    HAPPY birthday Sir Peter Aduro. You were one unique angelic soul in human form. Be at peace. Be at peace.

  2. I am not good at handling loss. I wish away the thought and when it happens I undo the event in my head. I undid your Dad’s transition in my head. I was tongue tied. I was in denial. I couldn’t even put a message on your Facebook page. I simply replayed the picture of him welcoming me into his home during my NYSC. He wasn’t aware I knew you. He was just a good man living his normal life; helping strangers, doing good.

    Reading your piece today; I finally shed some tears for a man whose life is the summary of a good Christian life. A man who embodies all one could become in the life of one’s children, extended family and Christian community. I am confident God’s perpetual light currently shines on him.

    I admire your courage dear sister.

    • Tomide. Now u made me cry. That was indeed my dad.
      Imagine my surprise to hear that you were serving in Niger state and that you had met my dad. Of course, he didn’t know we even knew each other, so he couldn’t have mentioned it to me. And after his death, there were many surprises. People saying ‘your dad did this for me’ or ‘he did that for me’ and we never even knew about most of them.
      Eternal rest grant unto him O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon him. Amen

  3. Sorry about the loss of your dad Agatha. May his soul rest in peace and may God continue to strengthen you and your family as you continue without him.

  4. I shed a tear after reading this… Not of sorrow but for joy.Though I never knew him physically, but through his children I met his greatness.
    Adieu papa, you live on and today I raise a glass to all that you stand for.

  5. Really short of words…May God grant you and the family the fortitude to bear the loss.Be strong Agatha

  6. AG, there is no word like ‘easy’ when dealing with the loss of an important person in someone’s world. Someone like your wonderful dad.
    All I think of is how you will deal with this because I know you love him so much but I know that God is able to strengthen you through it all.
    You are a strong woman, God will help you to keep being strong.
    Daddy Aduro, your memory is blessed and I know you are up there, among the cloud of witnesses, cheering Agatha, Nath, Jenny and all of us on.
    We bless God for your life well-spent.

Leave a comment