Confessions of an Innocent Bystander

I’m dressed to go out
Strapping on my shoes, then my legs fail
A certain lassitude suffocates
My route goes through the mall
And a crowded bus terminus
These days, heaven/hell lies beyond

Yesterday was Sunday
My body jumpy as I lay on the bed
Don’t get me wrong, I love the Lord
But does not even the Holy book question;
Do the dead praise You?
Worship in bed was an awesome experience

Mallam Yaro says hello no more
We used to stop and chat with him
Exchange chicken in December
For ram at Sallah
Now we look away, and suppress a hiss
They are his brothers

Boko is haram
Human beings are haram
There was that innocuous bag
Just outside the office gate
I didn’t notice it till it ticked
With a flash and bang, it was gone

So too was I

2 comments

    • Hi, sorry this is coming a bit late, only just seeing this today.
      well, by June, it will be two years since I started this blog. Although, i only just started doing it with some regularity. it is fairly easy onceyou make up your mind to do it and decide what you want to blog about. Thanks for stopping by, and the nice comments!

Leave a comment