We would be here (A comfort poem)

For Sephaa

In an instant, the gourd was smashed
Broken into irretrievable infinitesimal pieces
Your world rocked on its axis
Your steps faltered
Wobbled for that tiniest fraction of eternity
For what is time? But a fraction of eternity
And when I, I thought indeed
This load should seem a crippling weight
Time passed. And as I watched
Your shoulders straightened
Your spine stiffened
Before my eyes, you morphed
Spirit of your forbears. Not just the nose

And when that day comes
If that day should ever come
We would be right here
To take a load off
To wash your weary feet
Lave your soul in soothing balm
Without a doubt, we would be here

Sephaa dear, listen to Whitney Houston’s ‘Count on me’ and think of all of us who love you.
With love from:
Faeren Adzege
Theodora Agema
Isi Ayede
Taver Ayede
Su’eddie Agema
Agatha Aduro

Leave a comment